Successful Life Balance Model

< Back to HOME page


This is my recipe for a happy, successful and balanced life which is based on the Resilience Building Plan Worksheet by Sydney Ey, PhD Associate Professor in the Department of Oregon Health & Science University. Follow the recipe, by clicking through the links and you will actively change your life for the better:

  1. Focus on building PHYSICAL hardiness.
  2. Engage in joyful SOCIAL activity.
  3. Identify and DRIVE with your purpose in life.
  4. EMOTIONALly connect with a caring network.
  5. Encourage good COMMUNICATION with conflict resolution.
  6. Practice daily MINDFULness.
  7. Promote CLARITY of thought and mind.

Let’s get started – click through in order:


Chakras are centres of electromagnetic energy within our body, with meridians which take energy to smaller cells in the body. This energy is referred to as Prana in Indian culture, Chi in China, Ki (Qi) in Japan and Lifeforce in the West. We are literally bundles of energy, without it we are dead. This energy carries your thoughts, ideas, emotions and dreams, as well as energy you have picked up from your immediate environment and the universe. For example, think of a time when you had an ‘Eureka’ moment idea and you immediately jumped in the air or wanted to get going on the project. This is energy from your thoughts. What about the time you were made angry because someone cut you up on the roundabout. Your hand immediately goes to the horn or two fingers go up! This is energy from your emotions. How pleasurable is it when the house is clean and tidy, the candles are lit and music is playing. Don’t you feel great? This is the gently moving energy (or chi) from your environment, calming you down.

Energy cannot be destroyed, only transmuted. so it is important that you keep this energy moving. This is why your chakras should be free moving and in balance so that prana (energy) moves from each area chakra to the other keeping you in balance. How do you do that and how do you know when you are out of balance? My model will show you how.

I have taken the seven main chakras and combined them into four groupings, making it easier to work on each area of your life. These are PHYSICAL BODY, SOCIAL DRIVE, EMOTIONAL COMMUNICATION and MINDFUL CLARITY.



When your root chakra is in balance, you feel grounded, secure and comfortable in your own skin, enjoying a stable life.

If it is too over-developed, you are too set in your ways to embrace change, you hoard or are physically stiff.

When your root chakra is weak, then you feel physically weak, have problems with your feet, legs or knees, suffer with sciatica or have lower digestion problem. You may also be experiencing insomnia.



When both your sacral chakra and solar plexus are balanced, then you are enjoying life’s pleasures, feeling energetic, and focusing on your goals.

If they are too over-developed, you may be a workaholic, a driven perfectionist or have blocked creativity.

If weak, you may lack appetite, feel isolated, struggle to make decisions or lack direction. You may be too passive and submissive to realise your own dreams and follow those of others.



When your heart and throat chakras are balanced you express kindness to yourself, maintain emotional boundaries and have good self-esteem.

If they are too over-developed, you may be highly sensitive, get drawn into other’s emotional chaos or have a tendency to nag.

When weak, you suffer from low self-esteem, dis-like confrontation or physically suffer with pains in the chest or sore throat.



When your third eye and crown chakras are balanced then you experience mental clarity, you feel calm, both your logic and intuition function and life has meaning.

When these are over-developed, you feel disconnected, overwhelmed, confused, unable to concentrate and plan ahead or are experiencing excessive mental stress.

If weak, you are hostile to, and dismissive of, spirituality, feeling lonely or depressed.

Think of Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs and how at a basic level we all need physiological stability in terms of shelter, sleep, homeostasis, food etc. This relates to the root chakra, which I refer to as PHYSICAL BODY. Next, we need safety and belonging, with reference to our family, friendships, sexual intimacy and employment. I combine the sacral chakra, which is our primal self with the solar plexus, which is our outward-facing self, to create SOCIAL DRIVE. Continuing up the Maslow’s hierarchy, love and self-esteem are of next importance. Here, we seek the love and respect from others and in turn love and respect them. We need self-expression, self-esteem and self-love. I name this EMOTIONAL COMMUNICATION, combining the heart and throat chakras as they are naturally intrinsically linked. And finally, what I have named MINDFUL CLARITY, in which the third eye and crown chakras are combined, Maslow names as ‘self-actualisation’. Once all the basic needs in life are established, we can concentrate on morality, creativity, spontaneity, clear problem solving, acceptance of facts and lack of prejudice. A place we all want to be. My model will guide you there.

In each of these areas, I give practical solutions based on business psychology, from Stephen R. Covey’s “The 7 Habits of Highly Successful People” and Napoleon Hill’s “Think and Grow Rich“. I have integrated my model with works from James Allen “The Eight Pillars of Prosperity” and Michel Singer’s “The Untethered Soul“. Peppered amongst this is practical solutions using aromatherapy, feng shui, food as medicine, mindfulness and chakra healing exercises; all designed so that you can help yourself.

In the words of Victor Hugo: “Forty is the old age of youth; fifty is the youth of old age.” Your time is now, so carpe diem – seize the day!

My book Successful Life Balance goes into much greater detail and you can also attend one of my workshops.


Make your way up the chakra groupings from the base PHYSICAL BODY (root) to the top chakra MINDFUL CLARITY (crown):